This is the "Resources & Searching Tips" page of the "Mrs. Mannle's Fast Food Nation Research Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mrs. Mannle's Fast Food Nation Research Project  

Last Updated: Nov 13, 2017 URL: http://nhp.sewanhaka.libguides.com/content.php?pid=712846 Print Guide RSS Updates

Resources & Searching Tips Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Fast Food Nation

 

Research Process

research process

Understand your assignment 
Read your assignment thoroughly. What are the deadlines? How many pages and sources are required?

Select a topic from the choices provided.

Get an overview of your topic 
Begin with a general reference source such as an encyclopedia or atlas to get an overview

Develop a list of keywords 
Using the information you read to get an overview, create a list of keywords that will help you in the next stages of information gathering

Find, review and evaluate resources 
Search the library and other local library catalogues for book and other print resources. Search the library databases for magazine and journal articles. Evaluate resources for validity, accuracy and usefulness. Create a working bibliography of potential sources.

Focus in on the detail of your topic and if necessary develop a research question.

Read first, then take notes 
It is easier to take notes after reading through the material once. You will be better oriented and have a greater overall understanding. Use a systematic approach to notetaking

Develop an outline 
Now that you have a few notes and a better understanding of your topic you're ready to turn your focus question into an outline for your paper.

Revisit notes and identify where you need more information Now that you have an outline, take notes on your different sections. Evaluate your notes to ensure you have enough information to write each section.

Write, Edit and Review 
Review the citation guide so you can be sure to avoid plagiarism. Refer to your assignment for formatting specifications.

 

Need Help?

Need help with your paper? You can contact Mrs. Brusca or Ms. Resnick to set up a time to meet. Stop by the Library or email them anytime: abrusca@sewanhakaschools.org or nresnick@sewanhakaschools.org.

 

RESOURCES

  •  Opposing Viewpoints in Context -- Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze, and organize a broad variety of data, complete writing assignments, prepare for debates, and create presentations. Included are pro/con viewpoint essays, topic overviews, primary sources, biographies, court cases, full text magazine articles, statistical tables, charts, graphs, podcasts, including weekly presidential addresses and premier NPR programs, and national and state curriculum standards, correlated to the content. Educators may search and identify material by grade and discipline.
  •  The Food Industry in Eric Schlosser's Fast Food Nation --Provides in-depth analysis of the life, works, career, and critical importance of journalist and author, Eric Schlosser.

 

  • For ALL the databases your school library subscribes to click HERE.

  

Search for books in your library, great websites and eBooks too!

 

 

Developing Your Search

Brainstorming Keywords from Your Topic

This 2-minute video explains how to turn your topic into keywords that you can use to search library databases.

Developing Your Search

This 4-minute video explains how to develop targeted database searches using AND, OR, and NOT.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip