This is the "Home" page of the "Databases at NHP" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Databases at NHP  

Database guides and resources by subject.
Last Updated: Sep 23, 2016 URL: http://nhp.sewanhaka.libguides.com/databases Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases

POPULAR DATABASES:

                

                            

 Databases by SUBJECT:

Arts English Magazines & Newspapers
Biographies Health Math
Business
History Science
Controversial Issues Home & Careers World Languages
   

 

Gale POWER SEARCH

Use Gale's POWER SEARCH to discover all of the great content available at your library right here. Search for any term or phrase and find articles from thousands of magazines, journals, newspapers and books along with videos, images and podcast content. To view a list of all the Gale  databases click HERE.

Take the GUIDED TUTORIAL on how to use POWER SEARCH by clicking the icon below:

 

Why Can't I Just Google?

 

Using Wikipedia in Academic Research

Top 10 Reasons Students Cannot Cite or Rely on Wikipedia

 

Home Access

Please see your librarians for the user name and password in order to access all of these online databases from home.

 

Mobile Library App

To access all our Gale Databases on your phone, click on the picture above to download the free app from iTunes, or for Android devices, search your app store for Access My Library.

 

Database Search Tips

·    It is crucial to CHOOSE the right database for your task.

·    COMBINE keywords and/or subject terms using Boolean logic for fewer, more relevant results.

·    USE a database's sorting features for better results.

·    Databases may cover specific topics and/or time periods – PAY ATTENTION!

·    Use the HELP screens to learn the characteristics of a specific database and improve your searching skills.

·    Don’t forget to CITE your sources! Most databases will have a “citation tools” feature – use it!

 

What Are Databases & Why Do We Need Them?

 

Library Resources vs. Google

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip